When I Get Where I’m Going…

“We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.” ― Kurt Vonnegut

Two of my very best friends are leaving to embark on life adventures this week. To say I’m proud of them is an understatement. I will miss the hell out of them but I am more excited on their behalf than sad for my own.

IMG_0559

There’s nothing I enjoy more than seeing people follow their dreams, and I hope they find exactly what they’re looking for. Here are some special words from me to them: 

To Megan, my little Aussie au pair:

You are about to begin an adventure of a lifetime. You are a smart, capable, beautiful woman and I am so ridiculously excited for you. You are doing something most will only dream ever of and I wish you all the luck in the world on your year abroad. Remember to put yourself out there, meet as many people as possible and get yourself in as many interesting situations as possible. I am expecting a bevy of stories when you return. And they better include plenty of sexy Australian outback men. Be safe, be adventurous, be kind, and be wild. And don’t forget to smuggle me a koala.

To Ashley, my soon-to-be PR maven:

Get ready to pull up your socks and be successful, because you will be. You are a star m’lady. You have no idea how proud I am of you for going after what you want. You are beautiful, strong and intelligent, and a PR agency – or anywhere you find your calling – will be lucky to have you. And your man is too 😉 Don’t forget where you came from, but don’t be afraid to get off the porch and run with the big dogs. Stay determined, stay strong and stay true to yourself. Play safe in the big city, and make sure that man keeps treating you like the queen you are because you deserve nothing less. 

Now ladies, make me proud. xx

Leave a Reply

