Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop

This summer has been an interesting one for me, to say the least. In the past three months I have gotten promoted, left a serious relationship with a really special person, and broke my pelvis by getting hit by an SUV while walking.

Yes, you read that right.

Hurtin'

Hurtin’

One of the things I’ve realized since my accident is that life is frigging short and that I want to die satisfied. (Side note: no, I have not become some “live every day to the fullest” bible-thumping chick since I was mowed over. You can breathe easy.) Because of this realization, I am continuously questioning the things in my life now and am attempting to only (mostly) do things that make me feel happy and passionate and full. Has it consistently gone smoothly so far? Hell no. But I guess I can never really expect it to, it is life after all. You learn a lot about yourself as you sit on your ass all day, believe me.

I have been yearning to write again for awhile now. I was going to write a post right after my accident, but I decided against it due to potential legal shizz. I was also going to post random thoughts while my groin mended and I was stuck inside like an indoor cat, but I could only foresee the following being written:

“Sat today. Sat Yesterday. Will sit again tomorrow.”

Last night I went through some of my old posts on here, and I miss the way I used to write so freely. Now it feels forced. I realized though that a lot of my really good posts were inspired by emotional pain I was feeling at that moment. (Example: Goodbye My Love.) Maybe I should be sad more often? No, I don’t think so either. I need to get back to writing all the time, whether I feel like it or not, so that I can re-learn how to trust my hands to simply make sentences, instead of this “outline”-process I seem to do now. Patience you must have my young padawan.

“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”  – Louis Lamour

I’ve also been playing around with some novel writing. I’d give you details about my book-in-process, but then I’d have to kill you. I actually really like it though. It’s challenging for me to write something completely fictional and put myself into a story, but getting out of your comfort zone is a good thing, right?

One thing is for sure though: I’m gonna write. Disbelievers can suck it. One day I will say “Hi, I’m Danielle Crowe. I’m a writer.” To quote a photo of mug I saw on Instagram: You have the same hours in a day as Beyonce.

So pitter patter, let’s get at ‘er. 

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” – Ernest Hemingway

Leave a Reply

