Bulletproof

Most bad behavior comes from insecurity – Debra Winger

Insecurities can eat you up inside and tear you apart if you let them, and unfortunately I’ve recently let them. I learned the hard way when I was a teenager how badly your insecurities can destroy you; I was obsessive, jealous and anxious and it almost ruined me. I would like to think that I’ve improved substantially since then (for the most part…) however lately a feeling of insecurity has been creeping its way in.

For some reason this past week I’ve been formulating stupid fears, making random judgments and assumptions, and being overall insecure about something that is now in the past. And it caused my green monster to really show its face this weekend.

I feel horrible.

Why do we, as a human species, have to carry around so many feelings of low self-esteem on a daily basis? Why do we have to make comparisons and judgments on a daily basis on absolutely everything that we can? Why can’t we live in a manner that includes simply loving and appreciating yourself, your values and those close to you, and not focusing so much on all that we don’t have, don’t look like, aren’t living like, etc.? It’s disgusting, it’s something that I deal with, and it’s something that I want to remove from my life.

I want to live in every moment, appreciating myself, those around me and the things that matter most to me, and appreciating the fact that I’m alive in the first place. I want to start replacing every negative thought, doubt and emotion with a positive thoughts, reasons to be thankful and a feeling of gratitude towards all the amazing things in my life.

As I’ve said before, LIFE IS TOO SHORT TO BE ANYTHING BUT HAPPY so let’s all make a point to stop this thing called “insecurity” and be happy to simply “be.”

The psychic task which a person can and must set for himself is not to feel secure, but to be able to tolerate insecurity – Erich Fromm

tumblr_m5ttkgXESC1r04xyvo1_500

Leave a Reply

