You can kiss me with your fist any day, Florence Welch.

“Leave all your love and your longing behind you, can’t carry it with you if you want to survive”.  

I’m obsessed.  Absolutely stinking o.b.s.e.s.s.e.d. with Florence + The Machine.  I’ve been listening to nothing for the past week and a half but their quirky, indie sound.  There’s something so rare in the music – after being drowned with the radio’s “karoke” pop songs, I am so excited to come home, bring up my iTunes and listen to an artist who actually has an authentic sound.   

Making me fall even further in love with her, Florence Welch has been quoted saying “I want my music to sound like throwing yourself out of a tree, or off a tall building, or as if you’re being sucked down into the ocean and you can’t breathe”.  “It’s something overwhelming and all-encompassing that fills you up, and you’re either going to explode with it, or you’re just going to disappear.”

Sigh. 

Florence apparently writes her best songs when she’s drunk or has a hangover because she says that’s when the freedom, and the ‘feral’ music comes, creating itself merely from the leftover fragments gathered in her notebooks and in her head.  “You’re lucid,” she explains, “but you’re not really there.  You’re floating through your own thoughts, and you can pick out what you need.  I like those weird connections in the universe.  I feel that life’s like a consistent acid trip, those times when things keep coming back.”

The debut album “Lungs” is spectacular and I strongly, strongly recommend you take the time to listen to it.

Peace, I’m off to play some F+TM.

Image

Leave a Reply

